Board of Directors

All community action agencies (CAA) are governed by a tri-partite Board of Directors, meaning 1/3 must consist of elected public officials or their representatives, not less than 1/3 of members must be chosen democratically and represent low-income individuals/families, and the remaining 1/3 of members must represent the community (business, labor, industry, religious, law enforcement, education, other major groups, and interests).  CAA boards are governing boards which means the board of directors is the community action agency and is legally responsible for its actions.  The board provides oversight and sets policy, while the Executive Director and the employees of STEP perform the day-to-day operations. STEP board members are all volunteers. 

The STEP board of directors utilizes its committees to carry out the functions and operations of the board.  STEP has 7 committees.  They are the:  Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Nominating Committee, Planning & Evaluation Committee, Fundraising Committee, Audit Committee and Personnel Committee.

The STEP board of directors works very closely with the Head Start policy council, fulfilling the Head Start Performance Standards requiring that certain governance functions be shared jointly by the STEP board of directors and the Head Start policy council.


2020 – 2021 Board of Directors

Betty Kingery, President
   Re/Max Mountain to Lake Realty Owner

Angela Phillips, Vice-President
   Director, FC Family Resource Center

Greg Winge,Secretary/Treasurer
   C.S.A. Program Director, FC Government Center, Retired


Antron Brown
   US Army, Retired
Cooper Brown
Pam Cobler, Ed.D.
   Disability Rights & Resources Center Community Advocate
Michael Ferguson
   Food Services Director, Ferrum College
Crystal Harris
   Patrick County Board of Supervisors, Retired
Rita Murphy
   Educator, Retired
Patti O’Neal
   Day Care Provider, Retired

Lorie Smith
   Franklin County Board of Supervisors
Mike Smith
Sue Turner
   Tri-Area Community Health Integrated Primary Care Case Worker